This feature takes collaborative working in InfoWorks WS Pro to new levels. In previous versions, users ‘check out’ a version-controlled object in order to change it. No one else can change the object while it is checked out. When the user has finished working on it, it has to be checked in – or the checkout must be undone.
This procedure, which we now refer to as the “Lock model”, generates a long library of version-controlled objects that can take up valuable and costly memory. The Lock model of version control is still available but in addition we offer an improved approach: the “Merge model”.
The NEW Merge model allows multiple people to edit the same version-controlled object simultaneously. They commit their changes to the master database so that other users can share them, and quickly see what has been changed. The system identifies and resolves conflicts between changes to objects committed by different users. Users can view the commit history to compare, view or edit older versions of the object, confident that the integrity of the data and its source is maintained.
This advance means that InfoWorks WS Pro v 4.0 users benefit from a single saved model, with all the changes clearly marked and accessible to all users. This is the premise behind the ‘Digital Twin’ – an accurate, up to date, virtual model of the real world. It enables more dynamic, iterative modelling for better scenario planning and decision making.
Both Lock and Merge models are available in InfoWorks WS Pro v 4.0.